Writing Pet Peeves…

Because it’s Monday, and Monday’s were made for cranky griping, I present my pet peeves in writing.

1) Unnecessary over use of the adverb. Especially “incredulously.” I don’t know why but if a book has this one more than once I have to resist the urge to throw it.

2) Perfect protagonists. Give me a flaw please! Give me many actually. I love a protagonist you’re not quite sure if you should route for.

3) Head jumping without clear breaks. I like to write and read from multiple POVs but please give me a chapter break or section break indicating we’ve switched from Jack to Jill.

4) Morals-of-the-story in anything meant for a reader over 10.

What are your writing pet peeves?

Leave a Reply

